When You Don’t Feel Strong

Today I saw a quote that I’ve seen many times but today it really stood out to me more than ever.

“I’m exhausted from trying to be stronger than I feel.”

I’m sure all of us can relate to this quote at some time or another. This got me thinking. Why are we trying to be stronger than we feel? Are we doing it for the benefit of others or ourselves? Are we afraid of what people will think if we let them in and see us not being strong? Or are we afraid to admit to ourselves that we aren’t being strong?

Life is crazy and always throwing curve balls at us. We all know this. We know that everyone is dealing with something. Yet we still feel this need to be perfect and show that we can do this, we can get through this, on our own. If we try to tell someone that we don’t think we can handle this we hold back on giving all the details in fear of judgment or not being taken seriously. We are afraid of being real, even to ourselves. If we admit to ourselves that we don’t think we can get through this we feel like our world will crumble beneath us and cease to exist.

Why not admit to ourselves that we can’t do it on our own? We really are strong but at times we are weak. We all have weak moments. Sometimes we have lots of weak moments back to back.

IT’S OK! We are allowed to have weak moments, we are allowed to not be strong.

It’s times like this that we have to rely on Jesus to be our strength for us. Let Jesus hold you. Tell Him everything. Every little detail of why you can’t deal with it. That’s exactly what He’s there for. When we are weak He is strong. You’d be surprised how refreshing it is just to take a few moments to unload your burdens on God. Just doing that in itself strengthens you. You eventually come out feeling like you can tackle one more thing. Jesus is enough. He gives you just what you need at just the right time. You don’t even have to say a word. Go ahead, cry your eyes out while listening to the lyrics of a worship song. God knows exactly whats going on. Let your guard down enough to let Him speak to your soul….

“With ME, you CAN do this. Let Me be strong for you! I love you, my child, and I promise it will all be ok. Just rest and let ME hold you.”

Think positive. I know it’s not always easy to do. But in each situation you have to remember that God has a purpose for everything. Even the things that feel like they are tearing you apart. Instead of dwelling on the bad try to imagine just what could be the good out of each situation.

-Being late to an important meeting because you get stuck behind every red light and everyone going five miles per hour under the speed limit…. God could be saving you from a terrible accident.

-Your child being sick just long enough for you to keep them home and you to take a day off of work yet they recover quickly…. maybe God allowed them to be ill just for a short time to avoid someone at school/daycare who could be passing around a virus that could hospitalize your child.

-Loosing someone you love way to soon…. God could be sparing them from an even worse death in the future.

God ALWAYS makes something good out of the bad things. Even if we don’t ever get to know what the good is.

So stop trying to be stronger than you feel and just let God take over.

Rest in His presence for a while then tackle one thing at a time.

When you begin to feel weak again, remember to turn to Jesus and ask Him to hold you.

Don’t worry…He’s got you.

—–

Here are some encouraging scriptures and a song (lyrics below if you can’t listen now).

The Lord will fight for you. You need only to be still. – Exodus 14:14

When I said, my foot is slipping, Your mercy and loving-kindness, O Lord, held me up. In the multitude of my [anxious] thoughts within me, Your comforts cheer and delight my soul! – Psalm 94:18-19

Jesus replied, “you don’t understand what I’m doing now, but someday you will.” – John 13:7

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weakness, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. – 2 Corinthians 12:9

Hold Me Jesus By: Rich Mullins

Well, sometimes my life
Just don’t make sense at all
When the mountains look so big
And my faith just seems so small

CHORUS:
So hold me Jesus, ’cause I’m shaking like a leaf
You have been King of my glory
Won’t You be my Prince of Peace

And I wake up in the night and feel the dark
It’s so hot inside my soul
I swear there must be blisters on my heart

CHORUS

Surrender don’t come natural to me
I’d rather fight You for something
I don’t really want
Than to take what You give that I need
And I’ve beat my head against so many walls
Now I’m falling down, I’m falling on my knees

And this Salvation Army band
Is playing this hymn
And Your grace rings out so deep
It makes my resistance seem so thin

CHORUS

You have been King of my glory
Won’t You be my Prince of Peace

Leave a Reply

